CM Jagan Announced by Andhra Pradesh Govt withdraws Three Capital Bill

CM Jagan Announced by Andhra Pradesh Govt withdraws Three Capital Bill:

In a surprise development, the Andhra Pradesh government has decided to withdraw the AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Bill, 2020, which was intended to have three capitals for the State of Andhra Pradesh. The State Cabinet, which met here in the Legislative Assembly on Monday, took a decision to this effect. As per media reports, the advocate general for the state of AP, Subrahmanyam Sriram has informed the High Court about the decision of the government to take back the contentious laws.

“Our intention of a decentralized development of the state has been twisted, distorted and misinformation launched. Also, legal hurdles created and court cases filed,” news agency PTI quoted the Chief Minister. Advocate General S Sriram informed the same to the AP High Court, which is hearing a batch of petitions challenging. The AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Bill, 2020 and AP Capital Region Development Authority Repeal Bills, 2020. The State cabinet has decided to keep Amaravati as Ap’s Capital.

The Jaganmohan Reddy government had tabled the three bills, decentralizing the administration, in January 2020. It had proposed to make Kurnool in the Rayalaseema region the judicial capital. Visakhapatnam in the north Andhra region as executive capital, and Amaravati in the coastal region as legislative capital. The Government had proposed to move the high court and all judicial and legal institutions to Visakhapatnam leaving legislature both legislative assembly and legislative council in Amaravati.


Minister Kodali Nani has addressed the media after the bureau meeting. Reacting to the 3 Capitals Bill and the government’s choice, Nani said, “Actually parcel of things are going on. Courts have continued on the issue. Bureau has met to talk about it. We’ll take a choice appropriately. CM’s choice is last on this and we (bureau) are with the CM.”

A division bench of the high court comprising chief justice Prashant Kumar Mishra and justices M Satyanarayana Murthy and D V S S Somayajulu has been hearing a batch of petitions against. The Jagan government’s decision to form three capitals, since November 15. Thousands of farmers gave up over 34,000 acres of their fertile lands for setting up. The state capital in Amaravati challenged these two laws in the high court. More than 100 petitions filed by the farmers in this regard.

“On behalf of BJP, we have passed a resolution for supporting Amravati as the capital of Andhra Pradesh. YSRCP government announced that there will be three capitals of the state without having any authority to do so. In order to support the local farmers who gave land for the capital development, BJP supports them and will see that capital remains in Amravati,” said Chowdary.

“We demand from CM YS Jagan Mohan Reddy that Amaravati shall continue as the capital as per the unanimous decision on the Assembly floor by all the parties prior to 2019. We express our open support for farmers and respect their agreements with the State Government for new capital construction at Amaravati,” he added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *